150 E. King Street
Alexander Dickson House
Closed major holidays. Free.
The Orange County Visitors’ Center operates from this late-18th century Quaker-plan house. Visitors can find an orientation video on Hillsborough, maps, brochures, a self-guided walking tour, and public restrooms. Guided Tours available by appointment and monthly on the Second Saturday at 10:00am & 2:00pm.
The house was moved from its original location (1 mile southeast of Hillsborough) to its present location in the heart of the historic district. The site also includes an office used by Confederate Gen. Joseph E. Johnston in April 1865 and an 18th and 19th century medicinal and herbal garden. Free